Week 22 – Judgements and Opinions

At last weeks webbie, Trish spoke about Deepak Chopra’s “1st Spiritual Law of Success”. I read the 1st Law and found lots of value in it. The last part of the chapter shows how to apply this law.

APPLYING THE LAW OF PURE POTENTIALITY

I will put the Law of Pure Potentiality into effect by making a commitment to take the

following steps:

(1) I will get in touch with the field of pure potentiality by taking time each day to be silent, to just Be. I will also sit alone in silent meditation at least twice a day for approximately thirty minutes in the morning and thirty minutes in the evening.

(2) I will take time each day to commune with nature and to silently witness the intelli-

gence within every living thing. I will sit silently and watch a sunset, or listen to the

sound of the ocean or a stream, or simply smell the scent of a flower. In the ecstasy of

my own silence, and by communing with nature, 1 will enjoy the lire throb of ages, the

field of pure potentiality and unbounded creativity.

(3) I will practice non-judgment. I will begin my day with the statement, .Today, I shall

judge nothing that occurs,. and throughout the day.

None of these are really new for us, but I became aware of how judgemental I am. In all cases these “judgements” are internal, so I’m not expressing them to anyone but myself.

As all know by now who have been reading my blog, I love referring to the dictionary to clear up any confusion.

Opinion: A view or judgement formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge

Judgement: An opinion or conclusion

Pass judgement: Criticize or condemn someone from a position of assumed moral superiority

Surprise, surprise, there is no significant difference between expressing an opinion and being judgemental, except that passing judgement is from an “assumed” position of superiority. OUCH!!! I find this really strange. As far back as week 5, we have been practising “No Opinions”.

From Week 22 Master Keys “ 1. Knowledge is of priceless value, because by applying knowledge we can make our future what we wish it to be. When we realize that our present character, our present environment, our present ability, our present physical condition are all the result of past methods of thinking, we shall begin to have some conception of the value of knowledge.

2. If the state of our health is not all that could be desired, let us examine our method of thinking; let us remember that every thought produces an impression on the mind; every impression is a seed which will sink into the subconscious and form a tendency; the tendency will be to attract other similar thoughts and before we know it we shall have a crop which must be harvested.”

I wonder what effect these judgemental thoughts have had on my character, my ability, my present physical condition and my current environment. What crop have I harvested?

I will remind myself not to judge.

15 thoughts on “Week 22 – Judgements and Opinions

    1. masterkeymartin Post author

      Thanks Tobie, just when you think the thoughts are all “hunky dory” you realise something else has gone off-track. As mentioned in Gerhard’s reply, I will be applying the mental diet to judgements.

      Like

      Reply
  1. mkmmaasambush

    No opinions…no judgement…difficult, but certainly necessary. Thank you for sharing the Law of Pure Potentiality practice – I especially love #2.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. dominica8

    thanks indeed, the ‘silent’ barely noticed split-second-like judgements woven inside our seemingly ‘clean’ thoughts are the parasites to go after, and BOY are they aloof……

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. masterkeyrea

    Martin, You’ve been busy with Judgement and or the lack thereof. I dislike judgement most because I always have done it in the past based on what I didn’t know. Now I judge and it hurts because I know how hurtful it is to all of us. Being with out Opinion and non judgement for many weeks now, means that this is our objective. The only way I got past this was just concentration what I wanted more of and that was LOVE. Now judging others is fun and brings great Happiness. Example, I see someone worthy of my judgement and think we are ONE and I Love You. (Silently of course) So I’ve broken the old habit created new one and things are pretty much the same, except there is no harm or Law against LOVE or using Virtues in truth.
    My buddy Martin you are committed to a wonderful path which we are ONE on and I love you brother and expect to hear from you even when the wonderful Class ends soon

    We are One and Love each other —– No Law broken there????

    Robert

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

